Australian Embassy

Role of the Embassy & Consulates

The Australian Ambassador represents the Australian Government in China.

Embassy staff deal with a range of matters -- including politics, economics, commerce, investment, culture, defence, development cooperation -- with the objective of promoting Australia's interests in its relationship with China, providing consular services and helping Australians living in and travelling through China.

The Australian Embassy is also responsible for passport handling, entry clearances and visas.

The work of the Embassy has also been expressed in terms of a mission statement. According to this statement, the Embassy seeks to understand China and to work with the Chinese to further Australia's interests. The Embassy is also charged with striving to grow and diversify trade and investment; to enhance an understanding of China in Australia; to help China's development and contribute to its regional and global integration; to build links between Australia and China, and to help Australians in China.

In addition to the Australian Embassy in Beijing, the Australian Government is represented by Consulates-General in Shanghai, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Shenyang and Hong Kong, and has "outrigger" Austrade offices in Wuhan and Shenzhen.

The duties of the Consulates-General are similar to those of the Embassy in that they pursue and promote the full range of Australia's interests in China, including trade and investment. The Consulates-General are also responsible for the consular protection of Australians residing in or visiting their areas of responsibility.

The areas of responsibility for Beijing are: Beijing Municipality, Tianjin Municipality; and the provinces of Gansu, Hebei, Henan, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shanxi, and Shandong; and the Autonomous Regions of Inner Mongolia, Tibet, Ningxia and Xinjiang.

The areas of responsibility for Shanghai are: Shanghai Municipality, and the provinces of Anhui, Hubei, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, and Zhejiang.

The areas of responsibility for Guangzhou are: the provinces of Guangdong, Hainan, Fujian, and Hunan; and the Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region.

The areas of responsibility for Chengdu are: the provinces of Sichuan, Yunnan, and Guizhou; and the Municipality of Chongqing.

The areas of responsibility for Shenyang are: the provinces of Jilin, Liaoning, Heilongjiang

The areas of responsibility for Hong Kong are: Hong Kong and Macao.