Australian Embassy

Important News: Changes to the Visitor visa framework

Back to Visas and Citizenship

On 23 March 2013 the Australian government introduced significant changes to the Visitor visa framework. The following visas ceased to exist:

• Tourist visa (Subclass 676)
• Sponsored family visitor visa (subclass 679)
• Business (Short Stay) visa (Subclass 456)
• Sponsored business visitor (short stay) visa (subclass 459)
• Medical Treatment (short stay) visa (subclass 685)
• Medical Treatment (long stay) visa (subclass 685)
• Electronic Travel Authority (visitor) (subclass 976)
• Electronic Travel Authority (business – short validity) (subclass 977)
• Electronic Travel Authority (business – long validity) (subclass 956)

The above listed visas no longer exist and applications made will be considered invalid.

Applicants who were previously eligible for the visas listed above may be eligible for one of the following five visa subclasses below.

• Temporary work (short stay activity) visa (subclass 400)
• Visitor visa (subclass 600)
• Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601)
• Medical Treatment visa (subclass 602)
• eVisitor (subclass 651)

More information, please see: Visiting Australia

Back to Visas and Citizenship



Page last updated 28 March 2013